Manor Lake’s Amazing Dog Story

by

This is an incredible story that we just receieved from one of our New York puppy families!!!

Kim/Mollie,
I now that I have emailed you a few times in the past year to tell you how amazing Lucy is, but I am now even more impressed with this dog than ever before. We had a pretty bad ice storm in New York on Tuesday night. As all of us dog owners know, the dog has to go out regardless of the weather, so I took her out for her night walk at about 10:30 p.m. I had been putting it off and off because of the weather, but it was getting late. When we were about 4 blocks from the house, I slipped and fell on the ice. I could not get up right away. As it turns out, I badly bruised my elbow and knee and fractured two ribs. Unfortunately, when I fell, I dropped Lucy’s leash and she took off. No matter how much I yelled and screamed her name, she did not stop running and did not even look back. I had no idea where she had gone and was thinking the worst. After getting up and about 30 minutes of looking for her, I went toward my house thinking that I was going to have to tell my 4 year old daughter that the dog was gone. Instead, I found my wife leaving the house with Lucy to find me. Apparently, she ran home and barked and scratched at the front door until my wife opened it to find her alone. She was pulling my wife in the direction of where I had fallen. I was so relieved that she was safe despite being so mad for her not listening and responding to me when I called her. I would have never forgiven myself if anything had happened to her. Lucy and I take exactly the exact same walking path every morning and every night. It is amazing to me that she was able to do it on her own and get home safely. At home, Lucy was clearly shaken up, but after much love and attention from me, she was back to her normal playful self in about an hour. Again, you gave us an amazing dog that is smarter than I ever could have imagined.

Jason
New York City

Leave a Reply

